bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I was given an offer for an Executive Admin Assistant job that would have been a slight raise from my current position (virtually nothing when considering gas and commute time), and because I'm spineless and had no idea what I wanted at the time, I accepted the position.


My current job agreed to cut my hours from 50 per week to 40 per week, and I thought, "Well shit, they've really been cool with me, they've been very willing to compromise, maybe I should just stay."


But, I'm spineless, so I didn't tell the company that extended me an offer. I didn't tell them until an hour before my start time on what would have been my first day of work. (I know....I should have told them much sooner, but I did play it off as though I was given a last minute offer the night before that changed my mind.)


I fully expected to never hear from that company again. I fully expected them to not even email me back.


A few hours later, I got a response. It was from the company operations manager who reached out to see if I would be interested in their Supply Chain & Purchasing Manager position. She mentioned that they had already had internal conversations about my potential career path and would I be interested in discussing this opportunity further, would I be interested in coming aboard in this different position.


I'm fucking gobsmacked. I don't know what to do.


My thought process is to just ask for what seems like an outrageous amount of money but is actually the median income for this position in my area of the state and see what happens. Worst case scenario, nothing changes and I stay where I am and I don't get a raise for a year but I get a schedule that is 100% more workable than what I've been doing for the previous 2 years. Best case scenario, maybe I get a $15,000/yearly raise.


The same day, I got 2 formal offers for the spare home that we own---the one we purchased for my Father In Law before we he moved into the nursing home. One is a land contract offer at exactly my asking price, one is a thousand dollars less but it's an ASAP cash offer that I'm much more inclined to accept.


I don't know what's happening or what I'm doing, but I am pleased so say that it appears I am doing it well.


8:41 a.m. - 07.13.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
dullstar
stepfordtart
cybers1ut
atwowaydream