bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Today after work, I'm making a six hour trek to Madison, WI to get a tattoo based on the poem Hurling Crowbirds at Mockingbars by Buddy Wakefield.

I haven't gotten a tattoo in like 7 years or something, and I'm a little worried that I've turned into a giant wuss but I'm certain it will be worth it. The early sketches I saw moved me to tears.

Devon is coming with me. Originally I thought I wanted to make the entire journey alone, but there's no way or place we resynch better than in a car on a road trip. I don't know if it's the meditative state the mind wanders to, the fact that we don't have to face each other as we talk, or the complete lack of stagnancy of the experience. With the exception of one horrible trip to Michigan where we argued for 12 hours straight (do you understand the sheer commitment it takes to fight with someone for TWELVE HOURS?!), long car rides have been a sort of restorative balm for any wounds we've been carrying around.

I want to get the tattoo solo. I want that experience to be mine and mine alone, and so while I'm in the chair, Devon is going to play in downtown Madison. Hopefully he finds some fun comic shops or thrift stores--he's been collecting old comic books and rebuilding action figures and I'm super stoked he's got a hobby.

It's been a beautiful relief to see him come back. Spiritually and psychologically. I see him again. He's trying to heal. He's taking steps. I'm so fucking proud of him.

Afterward our adventures, I want to lay in a big hotel bed and indulge in lust, gluttony and sloth until we wake up Friday for the return trip home.

8:41 a.m. - 10.05.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
dullstar
atwowaydream