bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I got a raise.

I wasn't even expecting it.

I had my review today; my boss and I had discussed it in abstract a couple of weeks ago and it's just been hanging over me like the goddamn sword of Damocles, but I finally got it today.

I thought I was doing a good job, like, literally until we had the conversation about him wanting to give me a review, I was pretty confident about the work that I've been doing. The past 2 weeks I've just been spiraling, convincing myself that I'm failing and gearing up for a very uncomfortable conversation.

At my last job, I NEVER spoke with my boss. Like, if everything was going well, we didn't speak. We only had conversations when it was bad--like when he wrote me up for my attendance after having covid, or like when he told me that he was doubling my responsibility and hours and refusing to give me the $0.23/hr raise I requested before accepting the position.

My new boss gave me tremendously positive feedback, explained that everyone was happy with the work I'm doing, the pace I'm learning and the speed and clarity with which I communicate--there weren't really any negatives, just places to focus on as I continue to learn and get comfortable. And my raise was well above the <$500 annual that I asked my old job for.

What a fucking trip, man.

2:56 p.m. - 02.04.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
dullstar
atwowaydream