bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Today is my 13 year anniversary. I know that since we're married, we're only supposed to celebrate that one (and we will, bigly this year because we're finishing out on a decade).


13 years ago, Devon was just my online boyfriend. I was working part time as a cashier, making a few cents above minimum wage. I'd just moved back in with my parents because the lease was up on the house I was renting and the relationship I was in when signing the lease had ended less than amicably. I was starting over. He was a janitor at a hockey stadium, living with a friend's parents, sleeping on a twin bed that felt more like a military issue cot. He didn't have a drivers license. We texted and chatted on MSN all the time, rarely speaking on the phone because I could only really talk to him using my free nights/weekends minutes and he had a prepaid cellphone and a tight budget, meaning he had to conserve his minutes.


Everyone rolled their eyes when I talked about him, especially when I referred to him as my boyfriend; they'd look at me with pity in their eyes and say things like, "he hasn't asked you for money, has he?" or "you don't even know who you're talking to!"


And now here we are. Both in successful careers, making great money, we currently own 2 homes and upgraded twice before we landed where we are now. We've done a lot of shadow work, been to therapy, gotten on antidepressants and tried like hell to build lives that were fulfilling. We work so hard to be happy and comfortable and cozy.


We have everything we could ever need or want, and best of all, we still like each other.

11:44 a.m. - 01.20.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
dullstar
atwowaydream