bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I'm mulling over an offer for a second job. I'd be moonlighting as a gas-station clerk less than ten miles from my house. It would be part time, probably between 18 and 20 hours a week. I'd be able to keep my weekends [mostly] free, put the entirety of my earnings into savings and guarantee that I am ready for college in January. (I've pushed my start date back to ensure financial stability, which has quickly risen up the list of important adult stuff to focus on. Also, I want to be in a place where I know I can maintain momentum.) As much as I'd like to go in August, there are too many variables to pin all of my hopes on. If I were to accept this position and hold onto it until January, I'd be completely covered.

The only real con, and it's kind of a big one, is committing to working 14 hour shifts anywhere between 2 and 4 days per week.

My day job at the abstracting company is incredibly low impact and there are some days when my brain only functions on a reptilian level, but I'm still a bit apprehensive to sign on for such long days....

At the same time, I have some really lofty goals and they are closer than ever before to becoming a reality. I'm ready to go back to school, and I'm ready to work my ass off. I'll be exhausted sometimes, I'll be frazzled sometimes....occasionally, I might even hate it, but if this is what I have to do to get my degree, then so be it.

As great as it would be to have someone write me a check to get my future figured out, it's going to feel really fucking incredible to do it by myself.

I think I'm going to try to do it. Worst case scenario, I fail and figure out something else.

I'm quickly learning that's one of my fortes, anyway.

11:15 a.m. - 03.05.15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dullstar
igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
atwowaydream