bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bucket List

I've never really thought about a bucket list before. It's the kind of thing everyone else around me obsessed over for a while, and occasionally, I would join in on the discussion.

I've been in this weird state of transition for the past few months, and as I turn inward to examine myself and what has got me feeling so out of sorts, I've begun to realize that I don't know me as well as I used to. To remedy this, I've been spending a lot of time on self reflection. I read about an exercise that suggested writing a bucket list as a way to figure out the things that are important to you, so I gave it a shot. At first, I found myself with a lot of stereotypical answers. At one point, I even included running with the bulls. Then I thought about it.... Like, why in the world would I want to do that? Aside from the sheer cruelty of the whole thing, I fucking hate running. I hate it. I think it should only be reserved for the gravest and most dire of circumstances.

Anyway, my first draft ended up with all of the things you've ever heard anybody include on their bucket list. While I don't mean to imply that those things aren't interesting or incredibly or awe-inspiring, it's just that, none of the things on my list were things I would actually want to do. None of them were things I would pay money or make sacrifices to realize, because none of them were important to me. So, I went back to the drawing board and really thought about it. I thought about what I like to do and what I value and what I find beauty in, and I think I've got a start.

*Place a prayer into the Wailing Wall
*Volunteer to work with victims of violence and abuse
*Attend/participate in a Pro-Choice rally
*Volunteer with hospice unit
*Visit Chichen Itza
*Witness the Northern Lights
*Become comfortable enough in my skin to visit a nudist beach
*See the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian oceans
*Climb a mountain
*Perform slam poetry
*Participate with in a Grandfather Ceremony with Devon(preferably in South America)
*Snorkel/scuba dive/swim with sharks
*Witness untouched/undeveloped coastline
*Visit all 50 states//Have a cup of coffee in every state
*Build a cabin
*Take a wilderness survival class
*Learn how to hunt
*Send my parents on an elaborate and lavish vacation (Ireland, Caribbean)
*Fish in the ocean with my father
*Take Devon to a concert at the Red Rocks
*Adopt an animal at the shelter that is about to be euthanized

10:35 a.m. - 03.03.15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dullstar
igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
atwowaydream