bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

funeral

A friend of the family passed away on Tuesday; she'd been unconscious for the past several weeks, after months of excrutiating pain and suffering. It's one of those few cases where you can actually find solace in the notion that they found peace.

I wish that made it less sad, but losing someone is never easy.

Devon is going to be a pallbearer at the funeral.

Her husband, who was absent throughout most of her sickness, has been calling me nonstop because most of my family has cut ties with him. He was little more than a leach at the end, and although I'll never know the real truths of what their relationship was like, his behavior outraged me. His main concern when she fell sick was that she'd no longer be able to sign checks over to him.... I feel terrible, but I don't want anything to do with him. While I can only imagine the horrors of losing a spouse, the way he treated her never sat right with me. I've always thought he was a manipulative prick, so it's hard to fathom doing favors for him out of sympathy.

But, at the same time, if the horrible way he acted was his way of dealing with watching his wife die, who am I to judge?

It's just a shit situation. I empathize with him, I do. But he's, like, twice my age. I have no wisdom to offer. I don't have a car to run the errands he's asked me to do and I don't have the money he's asked me to borrow. I know it's selfish, but my one consistent thought is, "How does this shit keep landing in my lap?"

1:26 p.m. - 10.17.13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dullstar
igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
atwowaydream