bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

inlaw 2

Devon's mother is moving to Iowa in the next thirty days. Apparently, we will be taking on control of her finances and physical responsibilities. There's not a lot to talk about, mainly because there's so much to do. And because I refuse to let this stress me out or become a point of contention in our marriage...but, suffice it to say, we're dealing with some shit that's entirely above our level of comprehension.

She and her husband are moving swiftly toward the end of their marriage and they keep talking to Devon and I like we have something to offer. It's hard, especially because I have no idea what my place should be. I mean, in addition to the fact that I'm an in-law, Devon's mom hasn't been a part of our life in the slightest. Aside from her random, erratic phone calls and occasional bibles in the mail, she's been a ghost. Also, I really don't think I have any right at all to dictate how their marriage (or it's dissolution) should go. I don't have any advice or answers. My longest and healthiest relationship in life has been with my dog for Christ's sake, what could I offer a broken, 20-something year marriage?

I know we're not prepared for this, and I know it's going to be hard, but I'm trying not to dwell on it because there's nothing else to do. This woman, despite how I feel about her, helped create the man I love more than anything in the world. So I will do what I can to coddle her crazy and fix her life. I will try as hard as I can to keep things flowing smoothly, but at the end of the day, I can't get over the fact that she's a grown ass lady. I need to keep in mind that no matter what happens and what I plan, she's an adult woman with every right to make decisions in her own life.

What the fuck have we gotten into?

I guess, though, that we did the right thing. Because after we decided all of this, I got a call from the University I applied to. I have a phone interview today!

8:27 a.m. - 09.16.13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dullstar
igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
atwowaydream