bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

defensive.

I ran into an old friend today at the store, and as we went through the motions of filling each other in on our lives since our last encounter, I mentioned that I'd gotten married. In addition to her shock (as I proclaimed several times when I was young that I would never marry), she got all weird and hurt about not being invited to our wedding. I told her that it wasn't a big deal--that nobody was invited to our wedding because we eloped. Now, most people who I mention that to are happy for me. In fact, if I had a dollar for every time I heard the phrase, "OH! That's so you!" then I'd be rich enough to rennovate the bathroom that I hate staring at so much, but I digress.

Her reaction was, like, the exact opposite. She actually told me that she felt sorry for me--that her big, huge extravagant wedding (the one she bragged about costing her parents $13,000) was the highlight of her life. She kept prattling on about things like catering and flower arrangements and her dress (which cost more than my car).

I was just kind of shocked. Not so much about the incredibly insulting way in which she dismissed our special day, but "the best day of her life" because it was the day she married her husband. It was the best day of her life because it was this giant, glitzy affair.

A lot of people have asked me if I regret eloping and I'm always so weirded out by that question.

Derv and I eloped because, quite frankly, planning a wedding fucking blows. And it's expensive. Everything we planned kept falling apart and we realized that it wasn't supposed to be stressful--it was supposed to be fun. We decided to take it back--do it our way. I'll never regret that. Ever.

And it was the best day of my life, because I married my soulmate, my best friend, my partner, my lover and my co-pilot. It was a ridiculous and amazing adventure that I'll never forget. I didn't have a big fancy dress (which was amazing. I stand by getting married in my pajamas) or a pretty cake or a big party.

I guess I shouldn't be so judgmental, but...I just feel so defensive. Some women apparently start planning their wedding from the moment the grow boobs (and if you're into Pinterest at all, then you know exactly what I'm talking about) but I never gave a shit about any of it. I did what was perfect for me. Fuck anybody who doesn't see that!

2:04 p.m. - 12.19.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dullstar
igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
atwowaydream