bliss-sad's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nailed it

My procurement training was an interesting experience. I'm fairly certain that I was the only one in the room without a degree and the only one with any background in production. The person leading the training, a woman, was great and had a lot of really good information, but her companion was an awful, old, sexist dick. He interrupted her constantly, tried to put almost all of the women in the room on the spot (something he didn't do to a single man in the room), and would go off on long tangents with another attendee that weren't relevant to anyone else in the room.

I did learn a lot, though.

And it was super fucking cool to take the company car and spend half the day in the company car commuting.

I remember, more than a decade ago, I was working at a big warehouse/distribution center in production. My job was basically to stand in one place (on concrete) and put bags into boxes all day. I remember walking past the offices on my way to my station every day and just being jealous; I wanted to be in the offices. I wanted a desk. I wanted to sit down. I wanted to have the freedom to take a half day off work once in a while without it costing me half a day's pay.

I finally made it.

In so many ways, I am the person that I've always wanted to be. While I don't define myself by my profession in, like, any real way, it feels good to have made it this far. I'm so fucking proud of myself.

And I'm good at my job. Like, that's the craziest fucking part. Not only did I land this thing, but I am kind of killing it so far.

I'm sick today, so I dropped off the company car, picked up my laptop and worked from home--something I never got to do during the [first peak of the] pandemic. At my old job, when all the important office people went remote, I was the only one in the administration building. I spent the day filling out purchase orders and drafting a vendor report card and working on my parts tracking spreadsheets. I also got to watch Gilmore Girls and smoke and cuddle my critters in my bathrobe.

This might be one of my favorite working days.

1:15 p.m. - 12.03.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
chakra-nadi
waka--
weknowweknow
we1rd0
loveherwell
gonzoprophet
dirtyboots
moodswing
cybers1ut
stepfordtart
dullstar
atwowaydream